clock menu more-arrow no yes
Outdoor dining patio at Dama in Arts District, Los Angeles
Outdoor dining patio at Dama in Arts District, Los Angeles
Wonho Frank Lee

Filed under:

Eater Talks | The Power of Place

On Wednesday, September 30, Eater editors from Los Angeles, London, and New York discuss the power of place in the survival of a restaurant or bar

Eater Talks: The Power of Place

September 30 — 12:00 p.m. ET / 9:00 a.m. PT / 5:00 p.m. GMT+1

Just like terroir for a bottle of wine, a restaurant’s location is so much of what makes it it. From the city a restaurant calls home to the block it’s situated on to the very building that houses it — it all adds up, playing a huge role not only in the restaurant’s vibe and clientele but also, increasingly, its survival.

So how is place impacting restaurants right now, as so many struggle to stay open and thrive? On Wednesday, September 30, at 12 p.m. ET, Mona Holmes of Eater LA, James Hansen of Eater London, and Tanay Warerkar of Eater NY will discuss the importance of a restaurant or bar’s place in these challenging times, touching on the influence of landlords, the power of rent relief, why gentrification shouldn’t be an afterthought, and more.

The conversation and Q+A will be moderated by Missy Frederick, Eater’s cities director, and will take place over Zoom. Register below to secure a spot, receive a Zoom link prior to the event, and add the event to your calendar.

Beer

The Country’s First Native American Woman-Owned Brewery in the U.S. Doesn’t Want to Be Its Last

Apps

For Restaurant Owners, Instagram Hacks Create Major Headaches

News

The Restaurant Revitalization Fund Is Dead

Sign up for the Sign up for the Eater newsletter

The freshest news from the food world every day