Vegans need no longer cry into their subpar Tofutti ice cream sandwiches: Ice cream gurus Ben & Jerry's just launched a line of certified vegan ice creams made with almond milk. (The company had also previously considered using coconut milk.)
The new dairy-free line includes four flavors — Chocolate Fudge Brownie, P.B. & Cookies, Chunky Monkey, and Coffee Caramel Fudge — and should be in stores "soon," according to the official Ben & Jerry's Twitter account.
You asked, we listened. Our new #nondairy line is made with #almondmilk- What do you think? https://t.co/P3coMEmA0T pic.twitter.com/LvTMBevz36— Ben & Jerry's (@benandjerrys) February 3, 2016
Vegan ice cream seems like a natural move from the Vermont-born ice cream company, which — despite being owned by corporate behemoth Unilever since 2001 — often demonstrates its progressive leanings with special flavors honoring everything from marriage equality to Bernie Sanders.
Vegans surely deserve their own line of delicious frozen desserts, but do they also deserve legal protection for their dietary preferences? A group of vegans in Canada is currently campaigning the Ontario Human Rights Commission to recognize veganism as a "creed," which would classify it — along with religion and sexual orientation — as a protected human right.