clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

This Week in Food TV: Top Chef Finale, Masterchef Junior, and More

What to watch in the coming week.

For those who feel like giving their Netflix account a rest and actually watching some network shows, here's a handy guide to the upcoming week in food TV. Season 12 of Top Chef will finally come to an end, Andrew Zimmern's newest show will air back-to-back episodes, Eddie Huang's Fresh Off the Boat will debut its third episode, and the kids on Masterchef Junior will stage a restaurant takeover. Read on for all that and more:

SUNDAY

Bob's Burgers

Bob's Burgers. [Photo: Fox]

Bob's Burgers
Can't Buy Me Math (Season 5, Episode 11)
9:30 p.m. EST/8:30 p.m. CST on FOX
Tina teams up with Darryl to win the Cupid's Couple contest at the school dance.

The Great British Baking Show
Pastries (Season 1, Episode 7)
8 p.m. EST/7 p.m. CST on PBS
The remaining bakers make pastries, including crusty kouign-amanns and éclairs.

Cutthroat Kitchen
Alton and the Chocolate Factory (Season 6, Episode 12)
10 p.m. EST/9 p.m. CST on Food Network
In a special chocolate episode, one chef has to make molten chocolate cake — without chocolate! Then, two chefs have to make a savory chocolate dish with fish and eggs. Finally, one chef has to work a shift on Alton Brown's chocolate conveyor belt.


MONDAY

Andrew Zimmern

[Photo: Andrew Zimmern/Facebook]

Bizarre Foods Delicious Destinations
Florence (Season 1, Episode 5)
9 p.m. EST/8 p.m. CST on Travel Channel
Florence may have an artistic reputation but Andrew is more interested in its culinary contributions. In this episode, Andrew explores the classics like rare Florentine steak, thick ribollita soup, the original cappuccino and the world-famous frozen dessert, gelato.

Bizarre Foods Delicious Destinations
Boston (Season 1, Episode 6)
9:30 p.m. EST/8:30 p.m. CST on Travel Channel
Boston is known for its illustrious history, but this week we're focused on its food! From New England clam chowder to the hotel where Boston cream pie and Parker House rolls were invented, join Andrew as he explores Boston's legendary cuisine.

Booze Traveler
Dead in New Orleans (Season 1, Episode 12)
10 p.m. EST/9 p.m. CST on Travel Channel
Jack heads to the Big Easy for a taste of Louisiana's unique liquors. He digs into voodoo traditions, hunts for the almost-extinct Ojen and discovers Perique, a liqueur made with a rare tobacco that's grown in the bayou.


TUESDAY

Masterchef Junior

Masterchef Junior. [Photo: Fox]

MasterChef Junior
Restaurant Takeover (Season 3, Episode 6)
8 p.m. EST/7 p.m. CST on FOX
The six remaining junior home cooks face the restaurant takeover challenge.

Fresh Off the Boat
The Shunning (Season 1, Episode 3)
8 p.m. EST/7 p.m. CST on ABC
When the cul-de-sac plans a block party to celebrate NASCAR, Louis urges the family to use the event to make new friends (and promote Cattleman's Ranch Steakhouse). But Jessica has problems fitting in, especially after she befriends a beautiful trophy wife the roller blade moms don't like. Meanwhile, Eddie schemes to win the respect of the neighborhood kids.

Chopped
Chocolate Rush! (Season 23, Episode 5)
10 p.m. EST/9 p.m. CST on Food Network
Every mystery basket contains chocolate. Other ingredients include pork chops, beef and graham crackers.


WEDNESDAY

Top Chef

Top Chef. [Photo: Bravo]

Top Chef
Mano a Mano (Season 12, Episode 15)
9 p.m. EST/8 p.m. CST on Bravo
In the last part of the finale, the final two chefs must create the most outstanding four-course menu of their lives. Each chef takes a different menu approach, but they both face cooking missteps and nerves along the way.

Best New Restaurant
Miami's R House vs. Austin's Barlata Tapas Bar (Season 1, Episode 4)
10 p.m. CST/9 p.m. CST on Bravo
Two restaurants run by married couples square off in a culinary battle. A Miami establishment serving up globally inspired cuisine and an Austin tapas bar are featured.

Restaurant: Impossible
Dog and Pony Show (Season 10, Episode 6)
10 p.m. EST/9 p.m. CST on Food Network
Robert encounters a vocal group of customers when he arrives at the Dog and Pony Ale House in Renton, Wash., where he tries to help the owner toughen up and works to resolve trust issues with her staff.

Wahlburgers
Wahl of Fame (Season 3, Episode 6)
10:03 p.m. CST/9:03 p.m. CST on A&E
Donnie and the New Kids on the Block receive a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Watch What Happens Live
11 p.m. EST/10 p.m. CST on Bravo
Top Chef winner and runner-up will appear.


THURSDAY

Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares

Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares. [Photo: BBC America]

Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares
Quelcuttis (Season 6, Episode 4)
9 p.m. EST/8 p.m. CST on BBC America
Gordon helps a family run restaurant in Costa Blanca, Spain, that's quickly losing money and might not make it through another summer.

Duff Till Dawn
Castle Clash! (Season 1, Episode 4)
10:30 p.m. EST/9:30 p.m. CST on Food Network
Castle cakes are made.

Sign up for the Sign up for the Eater newsletter

The freshest news from the food world every day