clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

IACP Announces 2013 Food Writing Award Winners

If you buy something from an Eater link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics policy.

Tonight in San Francisco, the International Association of Culinary Professionals held its annual awards, honoring the best in food writing, photography, design, and journalism over the last year. Chef Martin Yan and ABC's Lori Corbin hosted the celebration, now in its 35th year.

Winners included Jerusalem: A Cookbook by Yotam Ottolenghi and Sami Tamimi for Cookbook of the Year, Sat Bains' Too Many Chiefs Only One Indian in the The Design Award, Modernist Cuisine at Home in the Food and Beverage Reference/Technical category, and Food 52 for culinary website. Marcus Samuelsson's Yes, Chef: A Memoir won in the Literary Food Writing category. The Lifetime Achievement award went to Alice Waters.

See the all the 2013 finalists, but here now, the winners:

IACP Cookbook Awards 2013


Hiroko's American Kitchen: Cooking with Japanese Flavors
by Hiroko Shimbo
(Andrews McMeel Publishing)

Baking: Savory or Sweet

Flour Water Salt Yeast: The Fundamentals of Artisan Bread and Pizza
by Ken Forkish (Ten Speed Press)

Chefs and Restaurants

Vietnamese Home Cooking
by Charles Phan (Ten Speed Press)

Children, Youth and Family

Teen Cuisine: New Vegetarian
by Matthew Locricchio (Amazon Children's Publishing)


La Cucina Italiana Encyclopedia of Italian Cooking
by The Editors of La Cucina Italiana (Rizzoli)

Cookbook of the Year

Jerusalem: A Cookbook
by Yotam Ottolenghi, Sami Tamimi
(Ebury Publishing (UK)/Ten Speed Press (USA)

Culinary History

The Cookbook Library: Four Centuries of the Cooks, Writers, and Recipes That Made the Modern Cookbook (California Studies in Food and Culture)
by Anne Willan, Mark Cherniavsky, Kyri Claflin
(University of California Press)

Culinary Travel

Burma: Rivers of Flavor
by Naomi Duguid
(Artisan Books, a division of Workman Publishing)


Too Many Chiefs Only One Indian
by Sat Bains
(Face Publications)

First Book: The Julia Child Award

The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook
by Deborah Perelman
(Random House, Inc. (Alfred A. Knopf))

Food and Beverage Reference/Technical

Modernist Cuisine at Home
by Nathan Myhrvold, Maxime Bilet (The Cooking Lab, LLC)

Food Matters

Why Calories Count: From Science to Politics (California Studies in Food and Culture)
by Marion Nestle, Malden Nesheim (University of California Press)

Food Photography and Styling

Bouchon Bakery
by Deborah Jones, Sebastien Rouxel
(Artisan Books, a division of Workman Publishing)


Gran Cocina Latina: The Food of Latin America
by Maricel Presilla
(W. W. Norton & Company)

Health and Special Diet

The Back in the Swing Cookbook: Recipes for Eating and Living Well Every Day After Breast Cancer
by Barbara Unell, Judith Fertig (Andrews McMeel Publishing)


Jerusalem: A Cookbook
by Yotam Ottolenghi, Sami Tamimi
(Ebury Publishing (UK)/Ten Speed Press (USA)

Jane Grigson

The Cookbook Library: Four Centuries of the Cooks, Writers, and Recipes That Made the Modern Cookbook (California Studies in Food and Culture)
by Anne Willan, Mark Cherniavsky, Kyri Claflin
(University of California Press)

Judges Choice

My Provence
Laurent Gras

Literary Food Writing

Yes, Chef: A Memoir
by Marcus Samuelsson (Random House)

Single Subject

Roots: The Definitive Compendium with more than 225 Recipes
by Diane Morgan, Antonis Achilleos (photography) (Chronicle Books)

Wine, Beer or Spirits

Canadian Whisky: The Portable Expert
by Davin de Kergommeaux
(McClelland & Stewart, a division of Random House of Canada Limited)

Bert Greene Awards

The Bert Greene Awards were first presented in 1991 to honor excellence in food journalism. The awards were named after Bert Greene (1923-1988), a nationally renowned cooking teacher, cookbook author, and syndicated food columnist.

Best Culinary Writing With or Without Recipes

Mei Chin
"Rhubarb's Ruby Submission"

Writing That Makes a Difference

Barry Estabrook
Eating Well
"Sweet Summer Corn"

Writing About Beverages (Tie)

Kara Newman
"Cognac's Sultry Soul"
Mike Seely
Seattle Weekly
"Murray Stenson's Accidental Tourists"

Culinary Travel or Memoir

Rebecca Flint Marx
"From Sex Cake to Spurned Salad"

Instructional Writing

William Alexander, with contributions from Meryl Rosofsky, Alex Rush, Kellie Evans, Dana Bowen, Ben Mims, Marne Setton
"American Bread"

Digital Media Awards

The Digital Media Awards honor excellence and trendsetters in both traditional and emerging communications technologies, including culinary blogs, video, audio, and other digital forms.

Culinary Blog

Salted and Styled
Libbie Summers and Chia Chong

Short Video Series

Master Class

Intriguing Use of Technology

My Provence
Laurent Gras

Culinary Web Site

Culinary Brand, Retail or Product Site

Eat Boutique
Maggie Battista

Long Format Audio

Dining Around with Joel Riddell
Host: Joel Riddell

Short Format Audio

Food in 2 Worlds, Feet in 2 Worlds

Awards of Excellence

The Awards of Excellence honor IACP members' extraordinary contributions and commitments to the culinary field with awards reflecting the diversity of our professional membership.

Cooking School of the Year

Institute for Culinary Education

Cooking Teacher of the Year/

Thor Erickson

Culinary Tour Operator of the Year

Joanne Weir

Food Photographer or Stylist of the Year

Alice M. Hart, CCP

Youth Advocate of the Year

Cooking with Kids, Inc.

Entrepreneur/Business Person of the Year

Dorothy Cann Hamilton

Corporate Marketing Campaign of the Year


Special Recognition Awards

The special recognition awards pay tribute to notable culinary professionals who have made significant and lasting contributions to the culinary industry and/or IACP.

Volunteer of the Year

Kris Rudolph

Humanitarian of the Year

Nell Newman

Lifetime Achievement

Alice Waters


Florence Lin
Jennifer Snider Coopersmith

Community Service


· All IACP Coverage on Eater [-E-]