clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

IACP Cookbook Awards: John Besh, Thomas Keller, Ruth Reichl Win Big

Last night in Portland, the International Association of Culinary Professionals held their annual cookbook awards, honoring the best in food writing, photography, design and journalism over the last year. Ruth Reichl and Kim Severson presided over hosting duties, and the big winners were: John Besh for My New Orleans in the "American" category, Thomas Keller and Dave Cruz for Ad Hoc at Home in the "Chefs and Restaurants" category, Rose Levy Beranbaum who's Rose's Heavenly Cakes picked up both the Peoples' Choice award and a win in the "Baking: Savory or Sweet" category, and Reichl, who won for Gourmet Today in the "Compilations" category. Also of note: Stumptown Coffee guru Duane Sorenson picked up a Special Recognition award for community service.

2010 IACP Cookbook Award Winners:

My New Orleans, John Besh

Rose's Heavenly Cakes, Rose Levy Beranbaum

Chefs and Restaurants:
Ad Hoc at Home, Thomas Keller and Dave Cruz

Children, Youth and Family:
Williams-Sonoma Family Meals, Maria Helm Sinskey

Gourmet Today, Ruth Reichl

Culinary History:
Of Sugar and Snow: A History of Ice Cream Making, Jeri Quinzio

First Book: The Julia Child Award:
The New Portuguese Table: Exciting Flavors from Europe's Western Coast, David Leite

Food Photography and Styling:
Williams-Sonoma Cooking for Friends, Alison Attenborough and Jamie Kimm

Food and Beverage Reference/Technical:
The Fundamental Techniques of Classic Pastry Arts, The French Culinary Institute

Stephanie Alexander's Kitchen Garden Companion, Stephanie Alexander

Mastering the Art of Chinese Cooking, Eileen Yin-Fei Lo

Literary Food Writing:
Waste, Tristram Stuart

Professional Kitchens:
Baking and Pastry: Mastering the Art and Craft 2nd Ed., The Culinary Institute of America

Single Subject:
Go Fish, Al Brown

Wine, Beer or Spirits:
World Whiskey, Charles Maclean

Design Awards:
Thai Street Food, David Thompson
Snowflakes and Schnapps, Jane Lawson

People's Choice:
The Cancer-Fighting Kitchen: Nourishing, Big-Flavor Recipes for Cancer Treatment and Recovery, Rebecca Katz and Mat Edelson

Cookbook of the Year :
Rose's Heavenly Cakes, Rose Levy Beranbaum

IACP 2010 Bert Greene Awards for Food Journalism Winners:

Culinary Writing about a Restaurant and/or Chef with or without Recipes:
“The Last Chinese BBQ” by Francis Lam, Gourmet

Culinary Writing with Recipes:
“The Art of Kim Chi” by Mei Chin, Saveur

Culinary Writing without Recipes:
“Better than Butter” by Shane Mitchell, Saveur

“Hunter Angler Gardener Cook” by Hank Shaw,

Culinary Writing about Beer, Wine and/or Spirits:
“Any Other Name” by Janet Zimmerman, The Daily Gullet

Culinary Writing that Makes a Difference:
“...Or Not to Bee” by Rowan Jacobsen, recipes by Eating Well, Eating Well

IACP 2010 Photography and Food Styling Contest Winners:

Best in Show
“Mother Making Bread with Daughter”, Food Stylist: Claudia Pruett

People’s Choice:“Back to Basics: A Modern Take on Classic Breads”, Photographer: Kelly Senyei, Food Stylist: Kate McCue

IACP 2010 Awards of Excellence Winners:

Culinary Tour Operator of the Year:
Marilyn Tausend, President/Owner, Culinary Adventures, Inc.

Test Kitchen Professional of the Year:
Audrey Nelson, Product Performance Manager Owned Brands Food Product Development, Target Corporation

Nutritionist or Food Scientist of the Year:
Amy Muzyka-McGuire, RD, CD, CCP, Owner/President, Food and Nutrition Communications

Culinary Youth Advocate of the Year:
“Lunch Revolution” Kate Lowery, Global PR Director, Whole Foods Market

Cooking Teacher of the Year:
Hugh Carpenter, Director/Owner, Camp Napa Culinary and Camp San Miguel

Vocational Cooking School of the Year:
The French Culinary Institute

Corporate Marketing Campaign of the Year:
FRESH magazine “Connecting our Farmers to our Customers” Jan Roberts, Senior Product Manager, Darigold, Inc.

Consumer Educational and Communication Materials of the Year:
“U.S. Rice in the Culinary Classroom: The Complete Guide for Food Educators and Professionals” Judy Rusignuolo, Director of National Consumer Education & Foodservice Marketing, USA Rice Federation

Food Photographer or Stylist of the Year:
Denise Vivaldo, Founder, Culinary Entrepreneurship Program

Chef or Restaurateur of the Year:
Lisa Schroeder, CCP, Executive Chef/Owner, Mother’s Bistro & Bar Mama Mia Trattoria

IACP 2010 Special Recognition Award Winners:

Lifetime Achievement Award:
André Cointreau, President/CEO, Le Cordon Bleu

Humanitarian of the Year:
Teresa Corção (Chef/owner, O Navegador) and Margarida Nogueira (Consultant, historian, teacher)

Volunteer of the Year:
Judith Klinger, Owner, Aroma Cucina and IACP Web Site Committee Chair

Community Service Awardee:
Duane Sorenson, Stumptown Coffee Roasters

· IACP Cookbook Awards [Official Site]
· All IACP Coverage on Eater [-ENA-]